Stuff We Dig

 

jackie-gleason-hustler-032

 

This is an ever-growing list. If you have stuff you like that you think we should like, let us know! Drop us a line at mailbox@drunkinamidnightchoir.com.

 

Hours and hours of fascinating reading: lettersofnote.com

Our friends at FOTR. Podcasts, reviews, PDX awesomeness: facesontheradio.com

Thursday Night Videos! Get some: TNV

University of Hell Press–Denting the world with words, one incendiary book at a time: universityofhellpress.com

The Bold Italic– dispatches from the SF techpocalypse: (now defunct)thebolditalic.com

Longform.org and Longreads.com – Two excellent sites that aggregate some of the best current and historic longform writing out there.

the-toast.net – a place for and by sassy, smart ladies: http://the-toast.net/

Nailed Magazine: Badass art and culture, by PDX heavy-hitters: http://www.nailedmagazine.com/

Write Bloody Press: top-tier independent publisher, especially for poetry: http://writebloody.com/

Grantland- (now defunct) Bill Simmons is hilarious and insane, and the writing here is consistently unparalleled: http://grantland.com/

Paul Simon shows Dick Cavett how he writes songs, and we get to hear a “Still Crazy After All These Years” before it was even finished!: youtube.com

WTF! – Marc Maron gives some of the deepest, most heart-on-your-sleeve interviews around, with the best in the business: http://www.wtfpod.com/

Lazy Fascist Press: The title says it all… brutal but, you know, nonchalant: http://lazyfascistpress.com/

Portland Review: Publishing exceptional local and international writing and art since 1956: http://portlandreview.org/

Crispin Glover on Letterman in 1987. It’s not easy to ruffle Dave. It requires special skill: youtube.com

Small Doggies Press: Publishers of awesomeness, one book at a time: http://www.smalldoggiespress.com/

Strokin’ – Have you ever made love before breakfast? (DMC not responsible for any homicidal urges associated with this earworm): youtube.com

Crude Vessels – http://crudevessels.tumblr.com/#2

The Bug Chicks – Chicks who love to cuddle with the creepy-crawlies–  http://thebugchicks.com/

Yes Yes Books – Sheer poetic awesomeness: http://yesyesbooks.com/

27bslash6- David Thorne is razor-witted rabble-rouser, and surprisingly still has all of his teeth and limbs – 27bslash6

http://www.brainpickings.org/ – Beautiful, intelligent thoughtfulness from Maria Popova

Mixtapery – Magical, passionate, hyper-intelligent, knock-you-on-yer-duff, themed compilations from a seasoned pro — mixtapery.tumblr.com

Muzzle Magazine – Gorgeous, mind-blowing poetry – muzzlemagazine.com

The Poetry Question – All things poetic, considered – http://thepoetryquestion.com/

Aeon – Amazing, intelligent, long-form writing about culture, science & life – http://aeon.co/magazine/

Perfect Day Publishing – If it’s not personal, they’re not interested – http://perfectdaypublishing.com/ 

The Tusk – Razor wit, deep thoughts, and killer swag – http://the-tusk.com/

Scott Woods Makes Lists – “Everything but laundry and groceries.” – Knockout stuff – https://scottwoodsmakeslists.wordpress.com/

FreezeRay – Pop culture poetry from lots of our favorite people – Sorta a sister site, more like a much cooler cousin – Our joint picnics are off the hook! – http://www.freezeraypoetry.com/

Wyvern Lit – “words with wings, eating their own tails” – http://www.wyvernlit.com/

Black Nerd Problems – Join the Nerd Nation – http://blacknerdproblems.com/site/

Large-Hearted Boy – a literature and music website that explores that spot in the venn diagram where the two arts overlap. http://blog.largeheartedboy.com/

Adroit Journal – Kickass poetry, prose and art from so many people we love – http://www.theadroitjournal.org/

Vulture – The best in entertainment news – http://www.vulture.com/

Winter Tangerine – Poetical, artistic badassery; themed issues – http://www.wintertangerine.com/

Reality Beach – spontaneous, transcendent, experimental poetry – http://realitybeach.org/

Public Pool – So much great poetry you will hardly be able to handle it – http://www.publicpool.org/

Entropy Magazine – Intelligent, strange culture and art magazine, whose centerpiece is the epic, year-long collaborative poem “Birdwolf.” – http://entropymag.org/

Luna Luna – Bad ass lady-run lit and lifestyle, “dark” and “light,” from the occult to fashion to social justice… – http://www.lunalunamagazine.com/

bitches gotta eat – Hilarious rants from the inimitable Samantha Irby –http://bitchesgottaeat.blogspot.com/

Fem Rag Lit Mag – irreverent, scathing, hilarious piss-takes of the patriarchy. Diaperbabies beware! – http://www.femraglitmag.com/

The Belle Jar – lovely, smart, feisty, passionate writing from Anne Theriault – https://bellejar.ca/

The Establishment – run by women, straight talk from editor Ijeoma Oluo and her badass compatriots – https://theestablishment.co/


%d bloggers like this: